Disaster Unemployment Information

In News by Wes Willis, Deputy Director OEM

Officials from the Kentucky Education and Workforce Development Cabinet and the Federal Emergency Management Agency announced today that 10 Kentucky counties have qualified for Disaster Unemployment Assistance.

Kentuckians in Bath, Bourbon, Carter, Elliott, Franklin, Jefferson, Lawrence, Madison, Rowan and Scott counties who have lost work or whose businesses were damaged due to severe weather that occurred from April 2 to April 17, 2015, may be eligible for unemployment insurance benefits.

Farmers and self-employed people, who are normally not eligible for unemployment insurance benefits, may also qualify for disaster unemployment assistance, according to the Office of Employment and Training, an agency of the Education and Workforce Development Cabinet.

June 13, 2015, is the deadline for applying for benefits. All regular unemployment insurance benefits must be exhausted prior to receiving any disaster benefits. Applications can be filed at local Kentucky Career Center offices. To find a list of local offices, visit http://kcc.ky.gov/Office/Locations.aspx.

If you have questions, you may contact the local office or call 502-564-3240.

When filing a claim, self-employed individuals should bring a copy of their 2014 income tax return. Other applicants need only a photo-identification card and their Social Security number.

Additional counties may be designated for federal disaster assistance at a later date if requested by the commonwealth and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Additional information about this disaster is available at http://kyem.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx.